SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Happy Labor Day!

Happy Labor Day!

Pictured: A Mother Daughter Duo from last year's Retreat! (Dearest Bat, if you are reading this- I love and miss you!)

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all enjoying the holiday weekend, I know I definitely am! I actually ended up googling why we celebrate Labor Day, because up until now I’d just been enjoying the day off from school/work, without really knowing why we take time to do so.

So, as I’m sure most of you probably already know, Labor Day is meant to be a celebration of laborers, of people who work really hard every day. It got me thinking about camp, and how it wouldn’t be anywhere near the same if it weren’t for all of the people who have put time, money, work, and sweat into it.

So, this Labor Day, I want to extend a genuine, heart-felt thank you to everyone that has worked to make camp the special place that it is today. Mr. Jeff always tells us counselors that we may never know the good we do-maybe not even till Heaven. But I just wanted to be clear, Camp Swamp is Good. I, as well as hundreds of other campers and counselors, am extremely grateful for the place that you guys worked so hard to create.

That said, I’m really excited for this week’s blog because I get the privilege of sharing some words from Mrs. Carolyn and Mrs. Jenn! They would like to say a little something about our upcoming Mother Daughter Retreat:

“Jennifer and Carolyn would like to invite  all grandmothers, moms, and daughters to the Mother Daughter Retreat at Camp Swamp, September 13-15. Special Music provided by Nichelle Young. A painting course will be conducted by Ann Peden, who will also be bringing some of her handmade jewelry for sale. Our guest speakers are Beda Roberts and her daughter Emily, who will be speaking to the moms and older daughters, and Halie Clark, who will be doing a class for the younger girls.  Come join us for games, laughs, great food, dancing and memories.  Can’t wait to see everyone.  REGISTER TODAY to reserve your spot for some great memories together.”

It’s just a couple of weeks away now! There is, of course, a link to register for the Mother Daughter Retreat, right HERE! I can’t wait to see all the pictures and hear all the stories.

Lastly, I looked up a few fun ways for you to spend your Labor Day!! Click this link for some cools ways to celebrate. :)

That’s all for me this week! Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to read the blog, and I pray that you all have a fruitful, safe week!


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...