SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Easter Reflections

Easter Reflections

Hi Swamp Bloggers!

Happy day after Easter! I hope that you had a wonderful time with your family and friends reflecting on the resurrection. Before we get into this week's blog, I wanted to give some recurring and new announcements!

1) The Daddy Daughter Retreat has been moved to the weekend of August 30th - September 1st. If you previously registered for this retreat, please re-register for the retreat at the new date. You can click here to register and find more info.

2) The 2020 summer camp schedule has been posted. It features some adjustments to the previous schedule, including a new week for family camp and a new type of summer camp. You'll want to check it out here!!

3) Swamp will have two work parties on May 4th and May 11th from 8am - 5pm. Sign up here to help get Camp Swamp ready for the summer!

Freedom and Joy

Today (Easter) I have been pondering what the resurrection means. One of our speakers at church today said something I found very profound. He said that the most important part of Christianity is not the crucifixion, but rather the resurrection. This really struck me. The cross is usually what I think of first when I think of the teachings of Christianity. And while it is essential and powerful and of utmost importance, without Jesus rising it wouldn't possess its same purpose.

This got me thinking about what the resurrection means to me personally. To me, it means freedom and joy. Since Jesus rose, we no longer have to live as slaves to our old sinful lives. We have the chance to live freely for God, and when we mess up, there is forgiveness. We have a reason to have happiness and joy in our salvation and relationship with Christ, even when our life circumstances may not bring us this same joy. By the way, I would love to hear what the resurrection means to you! Leave a comment below about what you think.

At the Swamp, we experience joy and freedom to be ourselves.

Some scriptures this made me think of were John 11:25-26 and Romans 8:14-15:

"Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die."

-John 11:25-26

"For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship."

-Romans 8:14-15

To me, the resurrection also means that we get to have God's Spirit inside of us. Before Jesus rose, the average person did not have the indwelling Spirit inside of them. Since then, it is available to all who follow Him.

The Spirit Brings Freedom

So, what does this have to do with camp? Well, it reminded me of a Swamp cast video I watched several years ago with Elyse Stokes and Jacob Richardson. They were discussing 2 Corinthians 3:17, and one of them was talking about what that scripture meant for them at camp. (Sorry, I couldn't find the video to include.)

"Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom."

-2 Corinthians 3:17

Elyse and Jacob were talking about how at camp they feel God's Spirit and presence, and, therefore, they are able to be free to be themselves. What I find interesting is that the scripture talks about the Spirit of the Lord and freedom: two of the crucial things the resurrection brought about. So, really when we are living in God's freedom, we are living out the resurrection. And, when we are at camp living freely in the Spirit of the Lord, we are enjoying exactly the kind of joy God meant for us to have. And, it is all thanks to the resurrection of his Son.

At Camp, we are able to enjoy God's freedom with each other.

I don't know about you, but I don't even need Easter dinner after that. I'm full just thinking about the amazingness of that concept. What joy, what freedom that God intended for us to have! And, how much of a gift that we get to have camp to help show us what that feels like.

I hope this week you are able to live knowing just how deeply Christ cares for you and exactly what the resurrection accomplished. We may never know the whole scope of it, but even a little understanding is enough to show us something truly incredible.

Thanks so much for reading this week!

Much Love & Respect,

Julie


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...