SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Glory in Grit

Hi! My name is Brianna Bryant, and from now on, I’m the full-time Swamp Blogger! I’m really thankful for the opportunity to keep the culture of camp on the forefront of our minds this year.

I had the honor of serving as a girls counselor for the entire summer. Now the summer is over, and we’ve all gone back to our respective homes. Ever since I got back, I’ve been thinking about the impact that camp has on everyone that gets to experience it. No matter who you are- a camper, a counselor, a nurse, or a kitchen worker- camp affects us all in a profound way.

I think what I’ve been most grateful for this summer is how camp always seems to have exactly what we need in order to get past an obstacle, or to see significant growth. It can be a much needed conversation, a good meal, a beautiful song, or even the summer theme. For me, the theme was precisely what I needed to be an effective counselor, and to grow in my relationship with God.

It can be really easy for us to feel entitled to a life of ease because we serve God, and to get angry with God when we don’t get that. Of course, suffering isn’t fun at all, and it’s natural to feel upset when trials come our way. But with each passing lesson, we learned that we can-and should- glory in our sufferings. We learned that our sufferings are worth something, and that they help us to be more and more like Jesus. (Romans 5:3-5)

The theme, for a lot of us, couldn’t have come at a better time. Everyone, whether you’ve had a hard year, or you’re struggling with feelings of entitlement, can find a little something to learn from the theme.

I’m not sure what camp has given you this summer, but I will always be grateful to God for creating a place that meets the needs of our souls.

Like I said before, I am so excited to get to share my heart with you guys every week! In the meantime, don’t forget to follow us on Facebook and Instagram at @campswamp to see what our team just did in Taiwan! Also, if you’d like to see some of our bible classes from the summer, you can click the link below! Even with the younger bible classes, you’ll find yourself feeling truly convicted.

https://www.campswamp.com/resources/2019_swamp_summercamp_bible_classes.pdf

With Love,

Brianna <3


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...