SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Reckless Love

Hello again, friends! Welcome back to the blog, I hope you’re all doing well!

I heard a lesson at the Middle School Retreat that really stuck with me- partly because of how she (the lovely Mia Hong!) looked at the woman at the well. It gave me a new perspective that quite honestly left me in tears, so I thought I’d share it with you all!

If you’re looking to follow along with your Bible, it’s in John 4:1-26!

In the past, when I’ve read this passage, or heard it talked about, I’ve always focused on the fact that Jesus spoke to this woman despite her status, despite her being a Samaritan.

But there’s a tiny part of that passage that I have completely looked over every single time- here it is below:

“Now he had to go through Samaria. So he came to a town in Samaria called Sychar, near the plot of ground Jacob had given to his son Joseph. Jacob’s well was there, and Jesus, tired as he was from the journey, sat down by the well. It was about noon.” (verse 4-6)

It was no accident that Jesus just so happened to be sitting in the awful heat in the middle of the day. It was no coincidence that he just so happened to be waiting at the exact well that the Samaritan had to use, at the exact same time that she needed to use it.

Now, sure- Jesus had to go through Samaria to get back to Galilee. But I also think he had to go through Samaria to get to this woman. He traveled far and wide, and sat in the heat that everyone else would rather avoid, because he knew that she needed to hear the truth. Nothing that she had done in her life was enough to make Jesus leave her empty-handed at the well that day.

How crazy is that? That’s just the kind of God we serve, though. The kind of God that moves rocks and mountains, and sets literally everything in place just to get through to us.

It got me thinking about that song, Reckless Love. Because if you think about it, God literally sent His son to turn the entire world upside down just for us to have a chance at a relationship with Him. When Jesus came, he was relentless, and didn’t even let death stop him from doing what he needed to do. If that’s not reckless, I don’t think I know what is.

So, this week, I just want all of you to feel encouraged. We get to serve a God who loves us enough to sacrifice His only son- not only that, but there is no sin, no character flaw, and no insecurity that could ever be enough to get Him to change his mind about us.

Well, friends, that’s all for me this week! Thank you so much for taking the time to read the blog! As always, I’ll be praying for each of you to have a safe and encouraging week!

Much Love,

Bri <3


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...