SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Introducing the Full Time Staff of 2018!

Introducing the Full Time Staff of 2018!

Hello Swamp Blog Readers!

We are just a FEW MORE DAYS from the start of summer camp!! Woop woop! This week the fulltime staff would like to introduce themselves, but first I'd like to take a moment to talk about this summer's theme. This summer's theme is "IMAGE", which came from a discussion how easy it is for us to be a Sin Manager instead of an Image Seeker. The lessons and Bible classes will revolve around creating a life that seeks the image of Jesus instead of working a dos and don'ts list. If we seek Jesus, then legalism fades. One scripture that was used as inspiration for the theme was Genesis 1:27:

"So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them."
-Genesis 1:27

It is quite amazing that God created us in his image and continues to form us into his image; most kids that come to camp have been raised in the church and are focused more on right and wrong than just trying to be like Jesus. We hope to steer all of us towards the latter this summer.

Fulltime Staff of 2018

This week the fulltime staff is out at camp doing last minute preparations before family camp starts. They are so excited to be out at camp this summer with you all. So, without further adieu, here is the fulltime staff of 2018:

titilayomiabiodunHi! My name is Titilayomi Abiodun. I also go by just Titi. I’m 18 years old and will be a freshman at Georgia State University this Fall. I grew up overseas in Johannesburg, South Africa and am SUPER excited to be a full-time counselor at camp this summer I have always loved coming to swamp, I’ve made all my best memories here. In my free time I enjoy jamming with friends and family. I love sloths and anything related to sloths I am a HUGE hugger and I smile a lot. I’m super excited to build friendships with my campers this summer and share my journey with God with them!
mccallbates-1Hi guys! My name is McCall Bates, I’m 18 years old, and I will be studying biology and dance at Emory University in the fall! Some of my favorite things include my mom, impromptu dance battles, listening to all kinds of music, and dogs. I will definitely be seen dancing at all hours of the day and trying to perfect every Just Dance song this summer. There is an inexplicable joy that I feel when I think of camp. It is the place where I feel most comfortable with who I am because it is so clearly filled with the love of God. I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to counsel all summer! If you’re ever moved to send me a package, I love all chocolate, gummies, and hand-written letters :). I’m so excited to see you all soon!
erinbrownMy name is Erin Brown and will be a rising freshman at Kennesaw State University! I plan to major in nursing and minor in Spanish. I’m the full time dishwasher at camp this summer and I’m super excited to meet new people each week and get to watch all the fun activities. One of my favorite parts of the day is mail call and seeing all the cool things people get. I love raisinettes and stickers! Also, I’m excited to see what God has in store for this summer and how camp will change people’s lives!
dylanchisolmWHAT'S GOOD?!?!?! I'm Dylan Chisolm! (The "l" is silent, like how I like my campers to be after lights out...) I'm 19 years old and am a third-year at Kennesaw State University, where I major in Spanish. Some of my favorite things to do at camp are play my guitar and jam out with people on the porch, EAT, play card games, and destroy - I mean, play ping pong, with my campers! The muscles in my right ankle and calf are still recovering from lack of use after my ankle surgery a month ago, but God's got me, and I've got a boot and a wonderful physical therapist, so not to worry!!! My favorite snacks to receive in any care package are, without question, Ritz crackers, Extra Toasty Cheez-its, and greatest of all, GOLDFISH! I so look forward to all the amazing times I'll get to spend with all my awesome campers all summer!!!
laurencicerchia-1Lauren Cicerchia here! I'm a 19-year-old rising sophomore at Kennesaw State University and could not be more excited for this summer! I have spent the last decade camping at The Swamp every summer and am so honored to have the opportunity to serve somewhere that has given so much to me. My favorite things about camp is definitely watching friendships being made along with seeing kids build their relationships with Jesus. Camp has played a major role in my life. It has helped me see God in ways I never had before, I have met many of my lifelong friends here, and it is my home away from home. I definitely would not be who I am today without camp, and I am so grateful to be here all summer! If you feel so compelled to send a package, I absolutely love Oreos, Flavor Blasted Goldfish, and Swedish Fish. I can't wait to see you guys this summer!
culleycookHi everyone! I’m Culley Cook, and I’m an 18 year old freshman at the University of North Georgia. I’m very excited for this summer and all that it brings. This will be my 12th summer at camp and 3rd being on full time staff and I’m confident that it will be one of the best yet. If you would like to send me a care package my favorite snacks are sour patch kids, beef jerky, and pretzel crisps. See y’all this summer!
juliefields2.jpgHi everyone! My name is Julie Fields. I'm 21 years-old, and I'm going into my senior year at UGA to finish up my degree in Journalism. (You may recognize me from something else Swamp related...hint hint ;) ) I'm so grateful to be back on the fulltime staff this year, and I can't wait to see all the plans God has for the summer. I love camp, because of how it meets you where you are spiritually, while still challenging you to go deeper in your relationship and love for God. I also love all of the relationships I get to make with campers and other counselors. And, to see campers make connections with God and with each other is the coolest thing. I'm looking forward to meeting you all and having fun together! Also, if you feel inclined to send me anything, I love encouraging letters, sour patch watermelons, and snyder's buffalo pretzel pieces. See you at camp!!
samprophoto"Hola!! My name's Samantha Goss, and I’m a rising freshman at Kennesaw State University! I have lived in Athens for almost 14 years and of those have been going to camp for almost 6 and have been a disciple for almost 2!! I'm so excited to be camp photographer this summer. I got into photography when I was about 12 years old when I just picked up a camera that we had and then not short after realized that I wasn’t too bad at it! I think I fell in love with photography, because I get the privilege to capture some of God's most beautiful creations, like animals and landscapes and people, and I get to go back and look through them and always find myself smiling. The reason I wanted to be camp photographer for so long, and bugged Matt way too much about it, is not only because I may be good at taking pictures, but because I love it and what better place to capture such joy and such happiness in people than the Swamp. Everyday summer gets closer, I get more excited to take on this job and see what memories I can capture with just one click."
jakegrahamWhat's up y'all! It's Jake here! I am 21 years old and a recent graduate from Tennessee Tech University. I am super excited to serve on the fulltime staff again. There are many reasons I love camp and it's hard to understand where to start in describing them. I love the freedom about camp. You are free to be who you are. Not only that, but you learn to become comfortable with who you are. You learn how to be vulnerable and accepting of your strengths and limitations. You become free. You become you. I am looking forward to giving every ounce and drop of energy that I have to ensure that the campers have the best week of their life. Camp, here I come!!! P.S. Care packages are awesome. Letters are awesome. Snacks are awesome.
bricegrubbHi, my name is Brice Grubb, I am an 18 year old freshman at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona, Florida. I have been coming to camp for 10 years and this is my first time being full time!
I love the Swamp and the joy it brings to its campers, and can't wait to finally council them. In my free time I play lacrosse and pretty much watch all sports (minus curling). Also food... I really like food. P.S. Kyle Roepe has officially handed over the title of "tall guy" to me.!
emersonhoward2-1Hey! My name is Emerson and I am in charge of both writing and directing the play each week at Swamp. As a rising sophomore in high school, Swamp offers me so much. The energy draws everyone in and puts it on every camper’s, counselor’s, and worker’s heart to draw closer the the Lord. I want to be here to both renew my own and other’s relationships with God and to re-examine the Word.
abigaillane-1Hi my name is Abbie Lane. I'm 18 years old and I live in Lawrenceville, Ga. I currently attend Cornerstone Church of Christ in Duluth. This upcoming fall I will be a freshman attending GGC to pursue Speech Pathology. My favorite things to do are sing and hang out with friends. One of the things I love about camp is that it gives me a chance to build great friendships with amazing people.
ailexloydHey folks, I’m Ailex! I recently moved to Potomac Valley, VA to finish up school. I’m a rising junior at the University of Mary Washington, studying Political Science. This year will be a homecoming for me, as I’ll be returning to camp after living on the West coast for a couple years. I am so excited to retreat to a place that feels like home, surrounded by such friendly faces. One of my favorite things about camp is that, although I haven’t been here the last couple of years, people are great at picking up where we left off! Collectively, we are grateful for prayers of no snakes, no breaks, and I personally am grateful for any and all letters of encouragement, and/or packages containing jolly ranchers!
carolinelongHey y’all! My name is Caroline Long and I am writing this blog post from San Diego. I moved out to San Diego last September for a volunteer internship with HOPEworldwide, but I ended up loving it so much i stayed for college. It’s amazing, but the downfall is, I’m not as close to camp! I love The Swamp, i love counseling, working, camping, kitchen working, anything!! I just love being at camp. I’ve been going to camp since i was 9 years old, and I have been blessed to be able to experience The Swamp in 5 countries other than the U.S. Camp has changed my life in more ways than i can count, so being given the opportunity to impact lives the way mine was growing up is humbling but also so exciting!! For those of you wanting to send me mail, I love letters and packages!! “Now what to put in the package” you may ask, I have the answer: sour patch watermelons, twizzlers, gushers, zebra cakes, and really anything else that you would think is encouraging! I’m so excited to be back at camp so soon, love you all!!
sharodmintonHi! My name is Sharod Minton and I’m a sophomore at Georgia State university. I’m looking forward to being able to get to know the campers and build and grow new and old relationships. Some of my hobbies include soccer, hockey, and running. One of my favorite parts of camp is dodgeball. I’m excited to spend my summer at a little slice of heaven!
jordannabors
“Hi everyone! So my name is Jordan Nabors and I am 22 years old! I recently just graduated during the beginning of May from the amazing University of North Carolina at Wilmington with a degree in Athletic Training. I have to tell you that it feels weird having graduated, but I’m stoked for what God has in store for my in my next chapter! I’m even more ecstatic for this summer being able to be a part of Camp Swamp once again! I’ve been going to Camp Swamp since my early teens, and I’ve been impacted in so many ways each year. Honestly, it has been such an influence in my spiritual life and in my relationship with God. I hope to be able to help the kids see who God is like I was able to when I was little. But anyways, just a few more things to know about me! You can find me singing or randomly dancing just about any time of the day. Also, if you’re looking to send me a care package, I love letters, oreos, crispy apples, and new bandanas! Hope to see some of you this summer!"
emilypenningtonHi my name is Emily Pennington, I’m from Tallahassee Florida but I attend USF in Tampa. I love camp because it has taught me that it’s okay to wear T-Shirts any time of the year.
andresperez-1My name is Andres Perez, Im 20 years old and Im from Alpharetta Georgia. Im a highschool graduate currently working. I love Camp Swamp and counseling. My favorite thing to get in a package is easily cookies! :) .. Also a letter from a friend. Im excited to be part of the fulltime staff this summer.
loyreddHi my name's Loy Redd! I'm a Sophmore at Apalachee High School! I am Erwin working and I love people!
mattreddickHey guys! My name is Matt Reddick, I’m 18 and going to be a Freshman at Chatt Tech in the Fall. I look forward to building tons of new friendships this summer and helping all the campers grow in their relationship with God! In my free time I enjoy playing various sports such as lacrosse, ultimate frisbee, and football. At camp, one of my favorite parts of the day is mail call, so if you want to send me a package, my favorite snacks are goldfish and starbursts, and I love getting cards. Can’t wait to meet everyone!
carolinerigdon-2Hey Swamp friends, my name is Caroline Rigdon and I'm the full time head worker for this summer! I'm 18 years old (19 on June 23rd heyooo) and a sophomore at UGA. I'm really looking forward to spending the summer surrounded by childlike hearts and serving attitudes. If you feel moved to send me a package, some snackies I love include COOKIES, fruit snacks, and gushers. I also love card stock, pens, and stickers. Can't wait to see you!
kyleroepeHey y’all my name is Kyle Roepe, I am a rising senior at the University of Georgia. I’m a Real Estate major in the Terry College of Business. I have been going to Camp since I was 9 and have served in every position from camper to Erwin worker to counselor so I’m excited to serve in a newly created intern position helping the Director. Camp is one of my favorite places in the world, it is the reason I became a disciple and has saved my soul countless times. As a total sports guy who is very relational, I love all the sports played out at camp and most importantly the relationships formed out there. I love the culture and fun energy about following Jesus out at Camp so some healthy snacks would be encouraged to help me through the summer!
averysnyderHowdy!!🤠 My name is Avery Snyder, I’m 17 years old, and I’m a senior at Duluth highschool. This will be my seventh year at Camp Swamp and I will be counseling and lifeguarding. I have a very large sweet tooth and would love if the campers gave me candy, but other then that I am very excited to be serving at the swamp and will thoroughly enjoy becoming close with the campers.
efrentrevinoHello!! I’m Efren Trevino, I’m 19 and a rising freshman going to Athens tech to become a nurse. This is my 10th year going to The Swamp. Every summer has been such a fun and different experience!! This will be my 3rd year being a full time Erwin Worker. It’s such an honor to be able to serve and help make the camp look beautiful. I take pride in this camp and being able to work with such hard working people. I’ll see you there!!!
ameliaveal
Hey y'all! My name is Amelia Veal and I am honored to be a part of the 2018 full time staff as a counselor and lifeguard! I am 18 and an upcoming sophomore at the University of North Georgia. I absolutely love the friendships built at camp that seem to come so easy because of the one thing we have in common- our love for Jesus. I love the quality time with one another, away from all the distractions of the world. I love being in the middle of nowhere, admiring and worshipping in God's creation. I also love a good game of ultimate frisbee! I couldn't be more excited to serve this summer at my favorite place!
tylerwashingtonHi I’m Tyler Phillip Washington. I’m 17 years old and I am from Athens, GA. I will be attending the University of North Georgia Oconee. I was baptized on February 5, 2017. I have been going to camp since I was 9 years old. I love Camp Swamp so much because the impact the counselors had on me has helped me get to where I am today and I’m immensely grateful for it.
jacobwilliams-1Hey y’all, my name is Jacob Williams! I am 20 years old, I’m a rising junior at the University of Georgia, and I am majoring in Early Childhood Education! This is my fourth (and final ☹) summer as a full time counselor. The reason I keep coming back to camp year after year is because of the way I feel while I am there. At camp, I feel the most comfortable being who God made me to be, which is attributed to camp’s judgment free atmosphere. I am extremely excited to work here one last summer because I know being a full time counselor at the Swamp is one of the best (if not the absolute best) job I will ever have. If you feel so inclined to send me mail, I would love to receive an encouraging note and some salty snacks! Can’t wait to see you this summer!
mychaelawilliamsHi everyone! My name is Mychaela Williams and I am 23 years old. This will be my 13th year of camp (I just can't seem to leave!) and I am so excited for all of the old and new faces this summer! I love seeing kids experience God and am so grateful for another summer of that at Swamp. I know that this will be an awesome summer and I can't wait! (If anyone's asking, my favorite snacks are Hot Cheetos, watermelon Sour Patch, and ranch Pringles!)

Thanks Fulltime Staff!!

Just one quick thing before you go: If you are a boy and have it on your heart to be a volunteer counselor, you can sign up HERE.

That's it for this week! Don't forget to check back in over the summer for camper blogs. See you all in August. :)

Much Love & Respect
Julie


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...