SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Rainy Nights at Camp Swamp :)

Hello again friends! Welcome back to the blog. :) I'm not quite sure how we got here so quickly, but November is officially upon us! This week, I've just been thinking a lot about Camp and everything that's happened over the course of 2020. This year has been littered with tragedy and uncertainty, but one of the biggest bright spots has been Camp. I'm so grateful for the joy and peace that Swamp Virtual Camp has brought me and so many other people.

Camp has really been on my mind, especially after our very first Virtual Youth Retreat last weekend. So, with that being said, and in the spirit of Thanksgiving happening later this month, I had an idea! Every week, for the month of November, you'll be hearing from various campers and counselors- we'll all be talking about the things we love about Camp, and the things we're grateful for.

For me, there's one specific thing about Camp that I've been thinking about. I'm realizing now, after not being able to go to Camp this summer, that I may have taken this for granted. But one thing that NEVER fails to fill me with joy at Camp is a nice rainy night.

Let me paint a picture for you.

There's a storm brewing, so we have mail call inside before dinner. Dodgeball is out of the question, so we gather on the porch to let the cabins with chores take care of business. Soon after, it's playtime! We get some Just Dance going, some musical chairs, or just hang out together in the dining hall. There are card games going, ping pong games blazing, and laughter fills the air. I love it! There's just something about everyone being in once place and having a good time together that makes me so happy!

More specifically, there's something else that almost always happens on a rainy night at Camp Swamp. Someone will pull out their trusty guitar and just start worshipping God. People join in, and before you know it, there's a full blown singing devo happening right there on the porch. Praising the Lord in the rain while everyone is gathered on the porch is an experience that I won't ever forget.

There are so many things about Camp that make it incredibly special. What's your favorite thing about Camp? What are you grateful for, or what do you miss about it? I'd love to hear about it all in the comments!


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...