SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

What You Won't Want to Miss this Summer

What You Won't Want to Miss this Summer

Hi Swamp Blog Readers!

Welcome back to the Swamp blog. I hope you're having a wonderful day. Thank you to everyone who came to the Swamp work parties on May 12 and 19. Your contribution is very appreciated! There really aren't any announcements this week, except that Swamp still needs volunteer boy counselors for the summer. I asked a seasoned boys' counselor, Jacob Williams, to tell me why he enjoys being a counselor at the Swamp:

"I really love counseling, because it gives me a chance to be the person for my campers that I needed when I was their age. After going to camp for several years, I feel like it's my job to give back through counseling and working. It gives me so much joy, and I know that it is the best job I'll ever have!"

Counseling is an awesome opportunity that you won't want to miss this summer! If you are interested in counseling, you can apply HERE.

What You Won't Want to Miss Out on this Summer

Sadly, next week will be my last week writing the blog for a little while. :( I will be back after summer is over. During the summer, however, there will be mini blogs from campers at camp almost every day of the week. These blog posts are an awesome way to connect with the Swamp and to feel like you are there experiencing the fun. They are something you definitely won't want to miss out on reading this summer. Here are some blogs from last summer from a very young camper and an older camper taking in the Swamp experience:

"Swamp is very fun. I would like you to go to Swamp. There are contests and a lot of fun games and food. You can go in the pool and have flippers. And you can go outside and do bible class and Gaga Ball. And make a lot of friends, but the cabins are hot! There's a bunch of bugs, but you'll get used to it. There are a lot of people that take pictures of you, and there's a nurse to take care of you. You get packages from your family, there are fun things in there that you can play with. And when your cabin finds a seat you all sit there. And you could play at lunch and play dodgeball and hangout with your friends a lot. And people get to see each other. You can also go fishing and play laser tag. My favorite thing this week has been laser tag, going to the pool, and going outside and hole hooping. The counselors are very fun! AND you get to make friendship bracelets!"

lianabell

-Liana Bell, July 19, 2017

...

"Each week at the Swamp is so unique in its own way. It really is never the same even though the same events are run every week. I got the chance to be in Boys 8 this week and my cabin is amazing. Since we are the oldest guys at camp we have the chance to set the tone for everyone and right off the bat we just starting acting super goofy in front of everyone. Because of how we have been acting we have inspired the other campers to come out of them self at a very early time in the week. This really gives people a chance to form better relationships with one another making the week one that they will always remember. Even in our cabin on the first night we were all talking about life and getting vulnerable. It is rare that a cabin will open up that early but that is what makes our cabin special. We are led by very strong men of God, Jake and Kyle, who I look up to so much. With their example reflecting Christ I am able to have a bigger purpose this week than just my self. They have taught me we will not know the good we do till we go to heaven and that is special!"

34485370283_d168de17ed_z

-Josh Seiden (left), July 5, 2017

...

Make sure to keep up with this blog to see more posts like these this summer!

Another thing you won't want to miss out on is summer pictures! To keep up with Swamp's summer pictures, follow the Campswamp Flickr Account to view hundreds of pictures that show what is going on at camp. The pictures are uploaded as the week progresses, so moms and dads can have a chance to see all the cute and funny pictures being taken throughout the week.

And, of course, make sure to follow the Swamp on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for live updates on camp with links to pictures and videos.

That is it for this week on the Swamp blog. Make sure to come back next week, when the fulltime staff will be introduced and the 2018 Summer Theme will be revealed!

Until next week!

Much Love & Respect,
Julie


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...