SUMMER CAMP
Sign up for a week or more today!
More info...

Connect with the Swamp

Connect with the Swamp

Hi Swamp Blog Readers,

Thanks for taking time out of your day to read our blog! I hope you are enjoying your day. This week I wanted to talk about how you can keep in touch with the Swamp by connecting with us via social media. First, however, I would like to introduce camp's new social media manager, Laura Olenick. Laura grew up going to camp and has some really cool visions for how social media can help the Swamp grow. This week I asked her to tell us a little bit about herself and her vision for camp and social media. Please welcome, Laura to the blog!

Our New Social Media Manager

"Hi, my name is Laura and I am the new Social Media Marketing Manager for Camp Swamp. I am so excited to be a part of this team and just want to tell you a little bit about myself. I spent the majority of my childhood in the Southeast, and was a camper at the Swamp for many years starting at the age of 9. The experiences and memories I gained from the Swamp are invaluable to me. Having grown up in God’s church and knowing the bible from a young age, the Swamp provided a different atmosphere and perspective of what it meant to have a relationship with God. Camp Swamp taught me to connect with God through nature and singing. It gave me older kids to look up to in counselors and other campers, and friendships with peers throughout the Southeast. My time at the Swamp brought a realness to God and to the cross which was instrumental in my decision to become a disciple of Jesus. And, of course, it was always a lot of fun!

I am now living in Salt Lake City, Utah with my husband and two sons. Devin and I have been married for almost ten years. We have a two-year-old, Owen, and a two-month-old, Logan. I first got into Social Media Management about two and a half years ago. Having had so many wonderful experiences at the Swamp, I am thrilled and honored to be able to share about Camp Swamp with the world through Social Media. It is amazing how Camp Swamp has grown and spread around the world in the years since I was a camper there. My hope and vision is to spread the word as far and wide as we can. The more people know about Camp Swamp and the impact it has on kids, the more kids can benefit from that impact. I hope that Swamp Alumni can be reminded of their time at the Swamp, and be prompted to pass on that opportunity to future campers through service and/or donations. I hope that more people will learn about Swamp Corps, and be inspired to travel to another country to change the lives of kids there. I hope that people can connect with us to share stories, photos, and inspiration, or even find friends that they’ve made through Camp Swamp over the years.

Help us to spread the word by engaging with us on Social Media. Like and share our posts with your friends to expand our reach. You never know what difference a simple share could make in someone else’s life. My hope is that our Social Media efforts will help kids around the world be able to benefit from Camp Swamp in the same way that I and so many others already have."

Thank you Laura for sharing your heart and vision with us! I know I am looking forward to watching the Swamp grow in this way.

Connect with Us

Now the question is: how do I connect with the Swamp through social media and on the web?

We are so excited to connect with you all more through social media and on the web. Until next week everyone!

Much Love & Respect,
Julie


SUMMER CAMP
Register for a week or more today!
More info...